The Board of Directors is made up of both Executive and Independent Non-Executive Directors. The Independent Non-Executive Directors hold the Executive to account and are accountable to the members, through the Council of Governors.

The Executive Directors manage the day-to-day running of the Trust, while the Chair and Non-Executive Directors provide advice, particularly regarding setting the strategic direction for the organisation, scrutiny and challenge based on wide ranging experience gained in other public and private sector bodies.  Details of the directors’ portfolios for 2019/20 is available to be viewed here.

Independent Non-Executive Directors are appointed by the Council of Governors, who also set their remuneration and terms and conditions of office. Independent Non-Executive Directors are appointed for a three-year term of office and can stand for reappointment for a second three-year term. In exceptional circumstances, they may serve longer than six years but this should be subject to annual re-appointment, to ensure their continued independence.

Trust Board – Register of Interests 

Declared Interests of Trust Decision Makers

David Astley


Philip Astle

Chief Executive

David Hammond

Executive Director of Finance and Corporate Services

Joe Garcia

Executive Director of Operations

Ali Mohammed

Executive Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development

Dr Fionna Moore

Medical Director

Bethan Haskins

Executive Director of Nursing and Quality

Lucy Bloem

Independent Non Executive Director

Michael Whitehouse

Independent Non-Executive Director

Laurie McMahon

Independent Non-Executive Director

Al Rymer

Independent Non-Executive Director

Terry Parkin

Independent Non Executive Director

Howard Goodbourn

Chair of the Finance & Investment Committee